How it went


LCD

Well the LCD was pretty much a dismal failure as I managed to desolder the wires, but I went about the wrong way. I cut off the long bits of the wire and then tried to desolder the scrappy bits. There was only one problem and that was my crappy old home iron. Needless to say I couldn’t get the holes to show. Sigh…. I really need to get a better iron and work on my soldering.

LCD before

before

LCD After

after

Okay so that element was a fail. I’ll do it properly at school tomorrow in the electronics lab.

Python Virtual Machine

Okay so I found this for the python virtual machine: python on a chip

First impressions are it’s pretty cool.

here’s it’s official line:

Welcome! Python-on-a-Chip (p14p) is a project to develop a reduced Python virtual machine (codenamed PyMite) that runs a significant subset of the Python language on microcontrollers without an OS. The other parts of p14p are the device drivers, high-level libraries and other tools. Please join the python-on-a-chip google group to discuss this project.

Sounds pretty cool but I’m going to stay safe and stick with good old C++ because I don’t think it will have much of an advantage.

Router

Okay so here’s what I’m running

The router

the router

So I opened up the box and found some awesome goodies like lot’s of manuals and free IP cable which is awesome. I also found a CD which has “utility software” on it.

Okay the utility software was rubbish so I need to go back to finding out the password for the browser based utility….

A quick browse over to whatismyip.com revealed what my current address and I simply used that to get into the D-link login panel.

Okay I’m into the login panel and all I needed to do was enter the stuff as it says in the semi-russian manual ( I’m not joking, half the manual was written in Russian!)

I’m in!

And I had a look at some of my recent connections and found that my friend who can’t even spell his name right on his iPod’s device name has been stealing some internet. Busted.

Anyways it’s got a really easy to use ethernet and LAN setup interface so it’s all good. It all looks a lot better than the bigpond router at my aunt’s. It’s got a lot more detail on connections and stuff. Go D-Link!

So that’s it. I’ve figured out what I need to figure out to get started on the project.

And mum is calling me for dinner….

Leave a Reply

